

NEWS RELEASE - FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Idaho Water Resource Board contact: Brian Patton, Chief, Planning Bureau, 208-287-4800

Idaho Legislature confirms Gov. Little's two new appointments, three reappointments to the Idaho Water Resource Board

BOISE - (April 4, 2023) – The Idaho Legislature has approved Gov. Brad Little's appointments of Marc Gibbs of Grace and Pat McMahon of Sun Valley to four-year terms on the Idaho Water Resource Board.

The Legislature also confirmed the reappointments of Idaho Water Resource Board Chairman Jeff Raybould of St. Anthony, Finance Subcommittee Chair Jo Ann Cole-Hansen of Lewiston, and Dale Van Stone of Hope to four-year terms.

The Water Board appointments and reappointments were confirmed by the Senate Resources and Environment Committee in early March and the Idaho Senate on Friday, March 31.

Gibbs is a farmer in Grace. He served seven terms in the Idaho House of Representatives and chaired the House Resources and Conservation Committee. He also served on the Idaho Fish and Game Commission from 1999-2006. Gibbs has a bachelor's degree from Utah State University. He is married to Bonnie Gibbs, and has two children and four grandchildren.

McMahon has been general manager of the Sun Valley Water and Sewer District for 34 years. He's been active with the Sun Valley Youth Hockey Association, and he's a former City of Sun Valley firefighter. McMahon has an economics degree from Loyola University in Chicago and an MBA from the Foster School of Business at the University of Washington. He has two children and one grandchild.

About the Idaho Water Resource Board: The Board is responsible for the formulation and implementation of the State Water Plan, financing of water projects, and the operation of programs that support sustainable management of Idaho's water resources. The board meets six times a year around the state, and holds special meetings, as needed, to address water resource issues.