
This Guidance Document is not new law but is an agency 
interpretation of existing law. For more information or to 
provide input on the document, please contact the 
Administrative Assistant at 208-287-4800. (Feb.2020)MEMORANDUM 

TO: Water Management Division 

FROM: Jeff Peppersack 

DATE: August 19, 2011 

RE: CHARGES FOR COPIES 

Amended Records No. 7 

This memo supersedes Records Memorandum No. 7 amended April 16, 2001 

Recent changes to the Public Information Act require a change to the Department's charges for 
copies. 

This memo addresses the charges for copies only. Should there be a need for research 
services, see Amended Records Memo No. 4. 

Per Idaho Code § 9-338, every person has a right to examine and take a copy of any public 
record. Generally individuals, companies or government agencies seeking information 
requiring copies from the Department should reimburse the Department for the cost of the 
copies that exceed 100 pages. Exceptions include watermasters, government agencies from 
whom we regularly receive free copies, and other incidental requests which may assist the 
Department in carrying out its duties. 

While Idaho code provides that the Department may charge for more than 2 hours of labor to 
copy documents, the Department will not implement a charge for labor at this time. The 
Department may reevaluate this decision at a later date if labor costs become excessive. 

Current charges for copies of Department records are shown on the attached sheet. These 
charges are subject to change, so the latest published charges of the Department should be 
used for all copy types. 

In addition, the fee for certification of copies of Department records as true and correct copies is 
$1.00 for each document. 

In situations where the need to reimburse the Department for copies is in question, the regional 
manager or section manager is responsible for that decision. 
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STATE OF IDAHO 
DEPARTMENT OF WATER RESOURCES 

CHARGES FOR COPIES 

NOTE: No charge for the first 100 pages. 

TYPE OF COPY 
Black and white letter/legal copies 
Black and white 11 x 17 
Color 

FEE PER PAGE 
$0.01 
$0.02 
$0.06 

Certified copies are $1 per document (the note above does not apply). 


