Electronically Filed 6/29/2023 4:32 PM Fourth Judicial District, Ada County Trent Tripple, Clerk of the Court By: Lusina Heiskari, Deputy Clerk

Sarah A. Klahn, ISB #7928 Maximilian C. Bricker, ISB #12283 SOMACH SIMMONS & DUNN, P.C. 1155 Canyon St., Suite 110 Boulder, CO 80302 303-449-2834 sklahn@somachlaw.com mbricker@somachlaw.com Attorneys for City of Pocatello

Robert L. Harris (ISB# 7018) HOLDEN KIDWELL HAHN & CRAPO rharris@holdenlegal.com Attorneys for City of Idaho Falls

Candice M. McHugh (ISB# 5908)
Chris M. Bromley (ISB # 6530)
MCHUGH BROMLEY, PLLC
cbromley@mchughbromley.com
cmchugh@mchughbromley.com
Attorneys for the Cities of Bliss, Burley,
Carey, Declo, Dietrich, Gooding, Hazelton,
Heyburn, Jerome, Paul, Richfield, Rupert,
Shoshone, and Wendell

Skyler C. Johns (ISB# 11033)
Nathan M. Olsen (ISB# 7373)
Steven L. Taggart (ISB# 8551)
OLSEN TAGGART PLLC
sjohns@olsentaggart.com
nolsen@olsentaggart.com
staggart@olsentaggart.com
Attorneys for Bonneville-Jefferson Ground
Water District

Dylan Anderson (ISB# 9676)
Dylan Anderson Law
dylan@dylanandersonlaw.com
Attorney for Bingham Groundwater District

# IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF THE FOURTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT OF THE STATE OF IDAHO, IN AND FOR THE COUNTY OF ADA

CITY OF POCATELLO, CITY OF IDAHO FALLS, CITY OF BLISS, CITY OF BURLEY, CITY OF CAREY, CITY OF DECLO, CITY OF DIETRICH, CITY OF GOODING, CITY OF HAZELTON, CITY OF HEYBURN, CITY OF JEROME, CITY OF PAUL, CITY OF RICHFIELD, CITY OF RUPERT, CITY OF SHOSHONE, CITY OF WENDELL, BINGHAM GROUND WATER DISTRICT, BONNEVILLE-JEFFERSON GROUND WATER DISTRICT, and MCCAIN FOODS USA, INC.,

Petitioners,

Case No. CV01-23-8258

IDWR Docket No. CM-DC-2010-001

PETITIONERS' MOTION TO DISALLOW ATTORNEY COSTS AND FEES SOUGHT BY IDWR AND SWC

Fee Category: Exempt Idaho Code § 67-2301

VS.

IDAHO DEPARTMENT OF WATER RESOURCES, and GARY SPACKMAN, in his capacity as Director of the Idaho Department of Water Resources,.

Respondents,

and

A&B IRRIGATION DISTRICT, BURLEY IRRIGATION DISTRICT, MILNER IRRIGATION DISTRICT, NORTH SIDE CANAL COMPANY, TWIN FALLS CANAL COMPANY, AMERICAN FALLS RESERVOIR DISTRICT #2, and MINIDOKA IRRIGATION DISTRICT,

Intervenors.

IN THE MATTER OF DISTRIBUTION
OF WATER TO VARIOUS WATER RIGHTS
HELD BY OR FOR THE BENEFIT OF A&B
IRRIGATION DISTRICT, AMERICAN
FALLS RESERVOIR DISTRICT #2,
BURLEY IRRIGATION DISTRICT,
MILNER IRRIGATION DISTRICT,
MINIDOKA IRRIGATION
DISTRICT, NORTH SIDE CANAL
COMPANY, AND TWIN FALLS CANAL
COMPANY

COMES NOW Petitioners City of Pocatello, City of Idaho Falls, City of Bliss, City of Burley, City of Carey, City of Declo, City of Dietrich, City of Gooding, City of Hazelton, City of Heyburn, City of Jerome, City of Paul, City of Richfield, City of Rupert, City of Shoshone, City of Wendell, Bingham Ground Water District, Bonneville-Jefferson Ground Water District, and McCain Foods USA, Inc., by and through their respective counsel of record, to move the Court pursuant to I.R.C.P. Rule 54(e)(6) to disallow attorney costs and fees requested by the Idaho Department of Water Resources ("IDWR") and the Surface Water Coalition ("SWC"). The IDWR and SWC motions for attorney costs and fees fail to satisfy the

statutory and case law standards and should be rejected; in fact, SWC's motion should be denied outright. The Petitioners' claims filed in the captioned matter were not frivolous, and IDWR and/or SWC were not the prevailing parties. These arguments are supported by the *Memorandum Brief in Support of Petitioners' Motion to Disallow Costs and Fees Sought by IDWR and SWC* filed contemporaneously herewith.

Respectfully submitted this 29th day of June, 2023.

## **SOMACH SIMMONS & DUNN, P.C.**

HOLDEN KIDWELL HAHN & CRAPO

Sarah A. Klahn, ISB # 7928

Attorneys for City of Pocatello

By /s/ Robert L. Harris
Robert L. Harris (ISB# 7018)

Attorneys for City of Idaho Falls

## MCHUGH BROMLEY, PLLC

By /s/ Candice M. McHugh
Candice M. McHugh (ISB# 5908)
Chris M. Bromley (ISB # 6530)

Attorneys for the Cities of Bliss, Burley, Carey, Declo, Dietrich, Gooding, Hazelton, Heyburn, Jerome, Paul, Richfield, Rupert, Shoshone, and Wendell

#### **OLSEN TAGGART PLLC**

By /s/ Skyler C. Johns
Skyler C. Johns (ISB# 11033)
Nathan M. Olsen (ISB# 7373)
Steven L. Taggart (ISB# 8551)

Attorneys for Bonneville-Jefferson Ground Water District

## DYLAN ANDERSON LAW

By /s/ Dylan Anderson
Dylan Anderson (ISB# 9676)

Attorney for Bingham Groundwater District

## **CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE**

I HEREBY CERTIFY that on this 29th day of June, 2023, I caused to be filed a true and correct copy of the foregoing document via iCourt E-File and Serve, and upon such filing, the following parties were served via electronic mail:

Idaho Dept. of Water Resources Director Gary Spackman file@idwr.idaho.gov Garrick.baxter@idwr.idaho.gov gary.spackman@idwr.idaho.gov sarah.tschohl@idwr.idaho.gov

John K. Simpson MARTEN LAW LLP P.O. Box 2139 Boise, ID 83701-2139 jsimpson@martenlaw.com

Travis L. Thompson MARTEN LAW LLP P.O. Box 63 Twin Falls, ID 83303-0063 tthompson@martenlaw.com jnielsen@martenlaw.com

W. Kent Fletcher FLETCHER LAW OFFICE P.O. Box 248 Burley, ID 83318 wkf@pmt.org

Candice McHugh
Chris Bromley
MCHUGH BROMLEY, PLLC
380 South 4th Street, Suite 103
Boise, ID 83702
cbromley@mchughbromley.com
cmchugh@mchughbromley.com

Kathleen Marion Carr US Dept. Interior 960 Broadway Ste 400 Boise, ID 83706 kathleenmarion.carr@sol.doi.gov

David W. Gehlert
Natural Resources Section Environment and
Natural Resources Division U.S. Department
of Justice
999 18th St., South Terrace, Suite 370
Denver, CO 80202
david.gehlert@usdoj.gov

Matt Howard US Bureau of Reclamation 1150 N Curtis Road Boise, ID 83706-1234 mhoward@usbr.gov

Thomas J. Budge
Elisheva M. Patterson
RACINE OLSON
P.O. Box 1391
Pocatello, ID 83204-1391
tj@racineolson.com
elisheva@racineolson.com

Robert L. Harris HOLDEN, KIDWELL, HAHN & CRAPO, PLLC P.O. Box 50130 Idaho Falls, ID 83405 rharris@holdenlegal.com Robert E. Williams
WILLIAMS, MESERVY, & LOTHSPEICH,
LLP
P.O. Box 168
Jerome, ID 83338
rewilliams@wmlattys.com

Randall D. Fife City Attorney City of Idaho Falls P.O. Box 50220 Idaho Falls, ID 83405 rfife@idahofallsidaho.gov

Dylan Anderson Dylan Anderson Law P. O. Box 35 Rexburg, ID 83440 208-684-7701 dylan@dylanandersonlaw.com

## *Courtesy copy to*:

William A. Parsons
PARSONS SMITH & STONE
P.O. Box 910
Burley, ID 83318
wparsons@pmt.org

Skyler C. Johns
Nathan M. Olsen
Steven L. Taggart
OLSEN TAGGART PLLC
P.O. Box 3005
Idaho Falls, ID 83403
sjohns@olsentaggart.com
nolsen@olsentaggart.com
staggart@olsentaggart.com

Corey Skinner
IDWR—Southern Region
1341 Fillmore St., Ste. 200
Twin Falls, ID 83301-3033
corey.skinner@idwr.idaho.gov

Tony Olenichak IDWR—Eastern Region 900 N. Skyline Drive, Ste. A Idaho Falls, ID 83402

<u>Tony.Olenichak@idwr.idaho.gov</u>

Sanh Klah

Sarah Klahn