

IDAHO WATER RESOURCE BOARD

Brad Little

Governor

Roger W. Chase

Chairman
Pocatello
District 4

Jeff Raybould

Vice-Chairman St. Anthony At Large

Vince Alberdi

Secretary Kimberly At Large

Peter Van Der Meulen

Hailey At Large

Albert Barker

Boise District 2

John "Bert" Stevenson

Rupert District 3

Dale Van Stone

Hope
District 1

Jo Ann Cole-Hansen

Lewiston At Large

MINUTES MEETING NO. 2-20

Idaho Water Center Conference Rooms 648A 322 East Front Street, 6th Floor BOISE

February 19, 2020

At 8:30 a.m. Chairman Chase called the meeting to order.

Agenda Item No. 1: Roll Call

Board Members Present
Roger Chase, Chairman
Jeff Raybould, Vice-Chairman
Vince Alberdi, Secretary via phone
Pete Van Der Meulen via phone
Bert Stevenson via phone
Dale Van Stone via phone
Jo Ann Cole-Hansen via phone

Staff Members Present

Brian Patton, Executive Officer Mat Weaver, Deputy Director

Cynthia Bridge Clark, Water Projects Section Manager

Sean Costello, Deputy Attorney General Jennifer Strange, Admin. Assistant

Agenda Item No. 2: Administrative Rules

Mr. Weaver provided an update on the Administrative Rules process for the Department and presented a resolution for consideration. There was discussion about the difference between adoption of administrative non-fee rules and administrative fee rules. The resolution presented to the Board was meant to adopt the Board's current pending rules as temporary rules and to authorize their publication.

Further, Mr. Weaver discussed the future processes expected for rulemaking, which included ongoing examination of rules and Executive Order No. 2020-01 called "Zero-based Regulations."

Mr. Raybould moved to adopt a resolution to publish the IWRB's current pending administrative rules as temporary rules in the event the 2020 Legislative Session adjourns without authorization of current pending administrative rules. Mr. Stevenson seconded. Roll call vote: Mr. Alberdi, aye; Mr. Barker, absent; Ms. Cole-Hansen, aye; Mr. Raybould, aye; Mr. Stevenson, aye; Mr. Van Der Meulen, aye; Mr. Van Stone, aye; and Chairman Chase, aye. 7 ayes. The motion passed.

Agenda Item No. 3 Non-Action Items for Discussion

Mr. Raybould provided an update to the Board members related to the Committee of Nine. Mr. Alberdi asked about an upcoming meeting with the Upper Snake River Advisory Committee. Chairman Chase told the members that he and Mr. Raybould would be attending a meeting with Idaho Power and Speaker Bedke.

Agenda Item No. 4 Next Meeting and Adjourn

Mr. Raybould moved to adjourn. Mr. Stevenson seconded. Voice vote. All ayes. Meeting adjourned.

Respectfully submitted this 3rd day of April, 2020.

Vince Alberdi, Secretary

Jennifer Strange, Administrative Assistant II

Board Actions:

1. Mr. Raybould moved to adopt a resolution to publish the IWRB's current pending administrative rules as temporary rules in the event the 2020 Legislative Session adjourns without authorization of current pending administrative rules. Mr. Stevenson seconded. Roll call vote: Mr. Alberdi, aye; Mr. Barker, absent; Ms. Cole-Hansen, aye; Mr. Raybould, aye; Mr. Stevenson, aye; Mr. Van Der Meulen, aye; Mr. Van Stone, aye; and Chairman Chase, aye. 7 ayes. The motion passed.