

**Brad Little** *Governor* 

#### Jeff Raybould

*Chairman* St. Anthony At Large

**Roger W. Chase** *Vice Chair* Pocatello District 4

**Jo Ann Cole-Hansen** Secretary Lewiston At Large

**Dean Stevenson** Paul District 3

Dale Van Stone Hope District 1

Albert Barker Boise District 2

Brian Olmstead Twin Falls At Large

**Peter Van Der Meulen** Hailey At Large

# **IDAHO WATER RESOURCE BOARD**

# MINUTES STREAMFLOW ENHANCEMENT & MINIMUM STREAMFLOW COMMITTEE MEETING NO. 1-22

Water Center Conference Rooms 602 C&D / Online Zoom 322 E. Front St. BOISE

March 14, 2022

**Committee Members**: Chair Pete Van Der Meulen, Dean Stevenson, Roger Chase, and Dale Van Stone.

### Agenda Item No. 1: Introductions & Attendance

Chairman Van Der Meulen called the meeting to order at 1:02 PM (MT) in Boise and online. Committee members present online were Dean Stevenson, Dale Van Stone, and Chairman Pete Van Der Meulen. Other board members online were Jo Ann Cole-Hansen, Brian Olmstead, and Jeff Raybould.

<u>IDWR staff members present were</u>: Brian Patton, Cynthia Bridge Clark, Amy Cassel, John Loffredo, Gary Spackman, and Jennifer Strange. Online was Steve Stuebner.

Guests online included Brenna Garro, Merritt Horsmon, Robert Newbry, Sarah Lien, and Norman Semanko.

# Agenda Item No. 2: CBWTP/IWTP Program Updates

Amy Cassel provided an update on the water transactions program, including its mission to support innovative, voluntary water transactions. She displayed the program's story map on the website.

She read comments from Merrill Beyeler regarding his experience with the water transaction program.

# Agenda Item No. 3: Upper Salmon Transactions

John Loffredo discussed two transactions for consideration by the committee. He spoke of an annual agreement with Lowell Cerise for 3 CFS at \$90/day totaling \$27,000 and a resolution to allow the ability to enter into agreements for emergency drought response annual agreements.

Dean Stevenson moved to recommend to the full board both resolutions. Dale Van Stone seconded. <u>Voice vote</u>: all ayes. Motion carried.

#### Agenda Item No. 4: Teton River Transactions

Sarah Lien with Friends of the Teton River presented a resolution to make a funding commitment in the matter of the Canyon Creek water transaction agreement. The resolution would authorize the Chairman to enter into a three-year agreement not to divert for the purpose of improving flow in Canyon Creek, tributary to the Teton River, using an amount not to exceed \$285,000.

Dale Van Stone moved to recommend the resolution to the full board. Pete Van Der Meulen seconded. <u>Voice vote</u>: all ayes. Motion carried.

#### Agenda Item No. 5: Other Items

Amy Cassel mentioned the potential impact of a recent change in the Department's analysis of lease rental agreements.

#### Agenda Item No. 6: Adjourn

Dean Stevenson moved to adjourn. Dale Van Stone seconded. <u>Voice vote</u>: all ayes. The meeting adjourned at 2:00 PM.

Respectfully submitted by Jennifer Strange, Administrative Assistant to the Board.