

IDAHO WATER RESOURCE BOARD

Brad Little *Governor*

Jeff Raybould

Chairman St. Anthony At Large

Roger W. Chase

Vice Chair
Pocatello
District 4

Jo Ann Cole-Hansen

Secretary Lewiston At Large

Dean Stevenson

Paul District 3

Dale Van Stone

Hope
District 1

Albert Barker

Boise District 2

Brian Olmstead

Twin Falls At Large

Peter Van Der Meulen

Hailey At Large

MINUTES FINANCE COMMITTEE MEETING NO. 2-22

Water Center
Conference Rooms 602 C&D / Online Zoom
322 E. Front St.
BOISE

April 20, 2022

Committee Members: Chair Jo Ann Cole-Hansen, Jeff Raybould, Dean Stevenson, and Dale Van Stone.

Agenda Item No. 1: Introductions & Attendance

Chair Cole-Hansen called the meeting to order at 10:01 AM (MT) in Boise and online. Committee members present were Chair Jo Ann Cole-Hansen, Jeff Raybould (online), Dean Stevenson (online), and Dale Van Stone (online). Other board members present were Al Barker, Roger Chase (online), and Brian Olmstead.

<u>IDWR staff members present were</u>: Brian Patton, Cynthia Bridge Clark, Neeley Miller, Kala Golden, and Jennifer Strange. Wesley Hipke and Sean Vincent joined the meeting online.

Guests in person included Tom Points, John Simpson, and Dan Steenson. Guests online included Paul Arrington, Norm Semanko, John Hafen, Kresta Davis, Steve Stuebner, and Matthew McGinn.

Agenda Item No. 2: Overview of Funds for Water Sustainability & Aging Infrastructure

Brian Patton detailed the legislative directives, including the use of funds for water projects, rehabilitation of aging water infrastructure, and flood management grants. He outlined the funding sources, including the water management account, revolving development account, and ARPA funds.

Agenda Item No. 3: Criteria for Regional Water Sustainability Projects

Neeley Miller presented draft criteria for the regional water sustainability projects priority list. Chairman Cole-Hansen recommended a thirty-day public

comment period. She suggested that folks could submit comments either in the current meeting or later within the period, which was agreed to be early June 2022.

Agenda Item No. 4: Criteria for Aging Water Infrastructure Loan/Grant Program

Neeley Miller provided a list of criteria for aging water infrastructure loan/grant program. Chairman Jo Ann Cole-Hansen recommended a thirty-day public comment period for the discussed criteria.

Public members provided input on the criteria.

John Simpson provided comments on both sets of criteria. He suggested that the current RWSP list be available to the public. He suggested clarification on criteria for resolving long-standing water use conflicts.

Tom Points with the City of Nampa expressed support for the program and that formal comments will be submitted in written form.

Dan Steenson had questions about the application process and funding limitations. Written comments would be submitted.

On the Zoom call John Hafen had comments related to the Hammett Project and budget shortfalls.

Jeff Raybould made a motion that the criteria presented be available for a period of 30 days to allow public comment and that the Finance Committee reconvene to evaluate the criteria. Dean Stevenson seconded. Voice vote: all ayes. The motion carried.

Agenda Item No. 5: Other Items

Mr. Olmstead said the Milner District had contacted him about a loan decision. Kala Golden responded that details were provided to them.

Agenda Item No. 6: Adjourn

Jeff Raybould moved to adjourn. Dean Stevenson seconded. Voice vote: all ayes. The meeting adjourned at 11:25 AM.

Respectfully submitted by Jennifer Strange, Administrative Assistant to the Board.