

IDAHO WATER RESOURCE BOARD

Brad Little *Governor*

Jeff Raybould

Chairman St. Anthony At Large

Roger W. Chase

Vice Chair
Pocatello
District 4

Jo Ann Cole-Hansen

Secretary Lewiston At Large

Dean Stevenson

Paul District 3

Dale Van Stone

Hope District 1

Albert Barker

Boise District 2

Brian Olmstead

Twin Falls At Large

Peter Van Der Meulen

Hailey At Large

MINUTES AQUIFER STABILIZATION COMMITTEE MEETING NO. 3-22

Water Center
Conference Rooms 602 C&D / Online Zoom
322 E. Front St.
BOISE

September 8, 2022

Committee Members: Chair Dean Stevenson, Al Barker, Pete Van Der Meulen, and Brian Olmstead.

Agenda Item No. 1: Introductions & Attendance

Chair Stevenson called the meeting to order at 1:40 PM (MT) in Boise and online. Committee members present online were Chair Dean Stevenson, Al Barker (who joined during agenda item 3), Brian Olmstead, and Pete Van Der Meulen. Other board members online were Jo Ann Cole-Hansen, Jeff Raybould, and Dale Van Stone.

<u>IDWR staff members present were</u>: Brian Patton, Neeley Miller, Matt Anders, Wesley Hipke, Brian Ragan, and Jennifer Strange. Online were: Josh Morell, Neal Farmer, and Steve Stuebner.

Guests in person were Douglas Jones; and online included Ann Yribar, Aaron Dalling, Alan Hansten, Barbara Gordon, Dan Davidson, Dan Hammerquist, David Blew, Devin Stoker, Frank Gariglio, Janet Jessup, Keith Esplin, Paul Arrington, Hattie Zobott, Kira Finkler, Ashlynn Goody, Mark Steuer, Kresta Davis, Matt Howard, Michael Comeskey, Parley Hinton, Tom Points, Scott Pugrud, Travis Thompson, Shawna Adams, Britt Raybould, Noah Stewart-Maddox, Robert Newbry, and John Simpson.

Agenda Item No. 2: Milner to King Hill Spring Discharge Calculation

Matt Anders discussed the spring discharge calculation project from Milner to King Hill. The goal was to develop a new method that integrates new data and remains accurate over time. Brian Patton mentioned that the project was funded through the Board's Secondary Aquifer Fund Budget for the current fiscal year.

Agenda Item No. 3: ESPA Recharge Program Project Development Plan

Wesley Hipke discussed future development for the Eastern Snake Plane Aquifer managed recharge program. He discussed a tiered approach to project considerations. He provided an overview of potential recharge sites. There was discussion about site potential and costs related to recharge goals.

Agenda Item No. 4: ESPA Recharge Infrastructure Funding Recommendations

Wesley Hipke requested recommendations from the committee for authorization to the full board.

Brian Olmstead moved to recommend to the full board the Hamer Road and Minidoka Projects for a total of \$8.5M. Jeff Raybould seconded. <u>Voice vote</u>: all ayes. The motion carried.

Agenda Item No. 5: Other Items

Jeff Raybould stated there might be a need for Board discussions related to SWC-IGWA changes. Dean Stevenson mentioned that a field trip with Wesley Hipke and Neal Farmer was appreciated.

Agenda Item No. 6: Adjourn

Pete Van Der Meulen moved to adjourn. Brian Olmstead seconded. Voice vote: all ayes. The meeting adjourned at 2:50 PM.

Respectfully submitted by Jennifer Strange, Administrative Assistant to the Board.