

IDAHO WATER RESOURCE BOARD

Brad Little *Governor*

Jeff Raybould

Chairman St. Anthony At Large

Roger W. Chase

Vice Chair
Pocatello
District 4

Jo Ann Cole-Hansen

Secretary Lewiston At Large

Dean Stevenson

Paul District 3

Dale Van Stone

Hope
District 1

Albert Barker

Boise District 2

Brian Olmstead

Twin Falls At Large

Peter Van Der Meulen Hailey

Hailey At Large

MINUTES AQUIFER STABILIZATION COMMITTEE MEETING NO. 2-22

Water Center
Conference Rooms 602 C&D / Online Zoom
322 E. Front St.
BOISE

August 1, 2022

Committee Members: Chair Dean Stevenson, Al Barker, Pete Van Der Meulen, and Brian Olmstead.

Agenda Item No. 1: Introductions & Attendance

Chair Stevenson called the meeting to order at 1:00 PM (MT) in Boise and online. Committee members present online were Chair Dean Stevenson, Al Barker, Brian Olmstead, and Pete Van Der Meulen. Other board members online were Jo Ann Cole-Hansen, Jeff Raybould, and Dale Van Stone.

<u>IDWR staff members present were</u>: Brian Patton, Matt Anders, Craig Tesch, Alex Moody, Amy Steimke, Brian Ragan, and Jennifer Strange. Online were: Wesley Hipke, Josh Morell, Neal Farmer, Cynthia Bridge Clark, Sascha Marston, Sean Vincent, Neeley Miller, Mike McVay, Dennis Owsley, Cooper Fritz, Dave Betts, Kara Ferguson, Mathew Weaver, and Steve Stuebner.

Guests in person were Noah Stewart-Maddox, Scott Pugrud, and Kresta Davis; and online included Aaron Dalling, Alan Hansten, Alan Jackson, Bert Stevenson, Erin Whorton, Robert Turner, Candice McHugh, John Williams, Jaxon Higgs, TJ Budge, Harrison Marshall, Brandon McLean, Leigh Ford, David Blew, Dave Colvin, Janet Jessup, Ashlynn Goody, Matt Howard, Tom Points, Travis Thompson, Britt Raybould, Robert Newbry, and Norm Semanko.

Agenda Item No. 2: ESPA Aquifer Storage Update

Mike McVay provided an update on the Eastern Snake Plain aquifer storage changes. He described the method of calculating storage changes by interpolating water level changes across the boundary. There was some discussion on storage changes and recharge impacts.

Agenda Item No. 3: ESPA Springs & Reach Gains Update

Matt Anders provided spring discharge and reach gain updates. He explained the mechanics of springs and the difficulty in measuring total discharge. He shared historical data from various springs and their trends. He discussed the importance of the Thousand Springs for minimum stream flows and the adjusted average daily flow for the Murphy gage and presented the reach gain calculation for the near Blackfoot to Minidoka reach and its decline since 2014.

Agenda Item No. 4: ESPA Aquifer Impacts

Alex Moody discussed impacts of management actions on the ESPA.

Agenda Item No. 5: SWC Agreement Update

Brian Ragan discussed Surface Water Coalition agreement mitigation activities.

Agenda Item No. 6: IWRB ESPA Recharge Program Comments from Partners

The following provided comments about the Board's ESPA managed recharge program: Dave Colvin with the Surface Water Coalition, TJ Budge with IGWA, Robert Turner with IGWA, Kresta Davis with Idaho Power Company, and Chris Bromley with the Coalition of Cities.

Agenda Item No. 7: Other Items

There were no other items for discussion.

Agenda Item No. 8: Adjourn

Al Barker moved to adjourn. Dean Stevenson seconded. <u>Voice vote</u>: all ayes. The meeting adjourned at 3:00 PM.

Respectfully submitted by Jennifer Strange, Administrative Assistant to the Board.