Meeting Minutes Big Wood River Ground Water Management Area Advisory Committee IDWR State Office at Idaho Water Center, Boise, Idaho November 22, 2021

The meeting started at approximately 1:30 p.m. Shelley Keen, Tim Luke, and Advisory Committee Member Pat McMahon attended at the IDWR State Office in Boise. Other attendees participated via Zoom video conferencing and/or telephone. See the attached list of attendees.

After a brief introduction and taking of committee attendance, Tim Luke reported on an old business item by stating the Wood River Water Collaborative group had not yet decided how to publish the Zach Hill hydrologic dataset for public access. Tim said he received an email earlier in the day from Keri York asking if it may be feasible for IDWR to host the dataset. Tim stated that he would discuss this inquiry with Sean Vincent and other appropriate IDWR hydrology staff.

Sean Vincent then gave an update on the Technical Work Group (TWG) activities. He said they will meet on November 23rd to review draft responses to the questions submitted to the TWG. Sean reported that the TWG's goal is to get responses back to the advisory committee before Thanksgiving. Sean also reported that the TWG will be meeting with the NRCS to develop SWSI indicators for additional stream gage sites within the BWGWMA.

Tim Luke then gave an update on results from the recent small group discussions. Tim outlined various potential term sheet items including: 1) the purchase of Snake River storage water, 2) fallowing of acres within the GWDs and a defined irrigation season, 3) additional mitigation in dry years, 4) a stream flow target of 32 cfs at Little Wood River Station 10 near Richfield, 5) a conservation/infrastructure fund, and 6) a three-year management plan trial period with allowance for adjustments within the three years per agreement among the parties. Various details relating to these term sheet items still need to be worked out including who pays for the purchase of the Snake River storage water and the amount of money needed, the possibility of fallowing additional acres, values for predicted stream flow runoff to trigger a potential dry year classification, possible stream flow target values, and payment amounts for the conservation/infrastructure fund.

Bill Simon then reported on a proposed groundwater management plan term sheet from the Camas Prairie groundwater users. Highlights of the term sheet included a defined irrigation season, contributing funds to cloud seeding efforts, and continuing to commit funds to study the Camas Prairie aquifer. Corey Allen and Brian Yeager both reported that Sun Valley Company and the cites have been meeting and discussing management plan ideas. Brian stated that he was in support of a proposed \$10 per acre-foot assessment on groundwater withdrawals (based on a 5-year rolling average) for the conservation/infrastructure fund. Brian reported that efforts are proceeding to get authorization of this proposal from city officials. He anticipates further updates to the advisory committee over the next week. Advisory committee discussion and questions regarding the proposals and updates followed.

The meeting was then opened for public comment and scheduling the next meetings. Some discussion ensued about scheduling another non-quorum (small group) meeting on November 24th or 26th pending availability of participants. The next advisory committee meeting is scheduled for the afternoon of November 29th (previously scheduled). The meeting adjourned at 3:14 p.m.

Big Wood River Ground Water Management Area Advisory Committee November 22, 2021, Attendance

Advisory Committee

Cooper Brossy Rod Hubsmith Sharon Lee Pat McMahon Kristy Molyneux Carl Pendleton Pat Purdy Bill Simon Nick Westendorf Sen. Michelle Stennett Brian Yeager Corey Allen

IDWR Staff

Tim Luke Cherie Palmer Corey Skinner Sean Vincent Shelley Keen Jennifer Sukow Alex Moody

Idaho Water Resource Board Members

Brian Olmstead

Members of the Public

Dave Shaw Chris Bromley Ashlynn Goody Mary Beth Collins Larry Schoen Sunny Healey Judd McMahon **Rusty Kramer** Kent Fletcher Mike Lawrence Keri York Jim Speck Justin Stevenson Chris Johnson Neil Crescenti Kira Finkler Eric Miller John Arkoosh **Greg** Loomis Kevin Lakey, Water District 37