Meeting Notes

Big Wood River Ground Water Management Area Advisory Committee Lincoln County Community Center, Shoshone, Idaho

October 30, 2024

IDWR Southern Region Manager Corey Skinner called the meeting to order at 10:11am and took Advisory Committee roll call. He introduced IDWR personnel, Idaho Water Resource Board members, and Idaho State Legislators in attendance. A list of attendees is included at the conclusion of these notes.

The second agenda item was a committee membership update. Sharon Lee's resignation from the advisory committee leaves an open position on the committee. Corey Skinner stated that a couple of letters of interest and several e-mails of support have been submitted to the Director and that letters of interest were due by October 31, 2024.

Public comment was solicited. Mike Gibson of Trout Unlimited discussed Keri York's email, which was distributed prior to the meeting. In general, Mike and Keri are appreciative of the efforts of the committee and would like to see fish and riparian habitat recognized in the plan. Larry Schoen stressed the importance of retaining measurable and manageable standards and tools. Larry also asked for clarification of written consent as mentioned in the current plan. Larry also expressed his concern with the proposed modification to the irrigation season shutoff date to allow for irrigation of perennial grass pastureland.

Next Larry Schoen delivered the Conservation, Infrastructure, and Efficiency Fund (CIEF) report. He noted the fund account currently totaled \$525,778.90. The Bypass lining project is on hold awaiting the results of a study. Larry would like the roles and responsibilities of the CIEF to be discussed and well defined as potential modifications to the plan moving forward are requiring more of the CIEF, and he strives for transparency and accountability.

The fifth agenda item was the review of the request to the Director for an extension of the current plan. Shelley Keen kicked off the discussion with a brief recap of the plan's history and how the advisory committee has come to where they are today. The current proposal is for a 3-year extension of the current plan with a few recommended adjustments as outlined in a letter to the Director. Shelley expressed his desire for all advisory committee members to sign the letter today. Shelley posed a question to all in attendance, if anyone was thinking that we need to take a step back. Discussion ensued about whether an aquifer level characterization from Alan Wyle's 2019 report should be recommended to the Director for inclusion in the plan. It was determined that this paragraph was considered at the June 13, 2024, advisory committee meeting, and the recommendation at that meeting was not to include the paragraph. Shelley Keen told the advisory committee that although the quote from the advisory committee is not in the letter, IDWR heard the discussion and would consider the possible utility of including the quote. The advisory committee

members then agreed that they would sign the letter to the Director recommending a threeyear extension of the current plan with the modifications outlined in the letter.

Next, Mat Weaver, IDWR Director, addressed all in attendance. He expressed gratitude for the efforts of the advisory committee and all parties involved and stated he has been kept abreast of the meetings through the duration of this process. Mat acknowledged that the 3-year extension overlaps nicely with current projects that will inform a more sustainable future plan and how important it is that the plan be well balanced throughout the whole of the management area. He stated he is committed to getting the plan extension approved by the end of 2024. A question-and-answer period followed the Director's comments. The Director responded to questions about plan enforcement and safe harbor within the management plan.

During a brief break, all advisory committee members signed the letter, except for Corey Allen, who was attending via Zoom. Corey emailed his signature of the letter to Shelley Keen on November 1, 2024.

After the break, Shelley Keen addressed agenda item number 7, "Next Steps.". The recommended plan adjustments outlined in the letter will be inserted into the existing plan document in overstrike/underscore format, and the draft document will be sent to the Director. It will also be made available to the advisory committee and the public for review. The Director will then issue an order adopting the extension of the management plan. Shelley does not think IDWR will hold a public meeting because this is not a "new" plan, but rather an extension of the current plan. Discussion ensued about methods of public outreach that could occur, and it was determined that the public had ample opportunity to weigh in during the advisory committee meetings throughout the year. Shelley then discussed the process available for appealing the Director's order and expressed his hope that nobody will perceive a need to appeal.

The advisory committee then discussed the plan modifications that impact the CIEF and that these will need to be addressed once the plan extension is adopted. Shelley encouraged the CIEF board to draft formal questions/ideas to be submitted to the Department so they can solicit answers from appropriate sources.

The next advisory committee meeting will be toward the end of February to review the annual reports required by the plan, hear updates on all on-going projects, and address the questions about operating the CIEF.

The meeting was opened for new business and final public comment. Following no new business items being raised and no additional public comment being made, the meeting was adjourned at 12:23.

Big Wood River Ground Water Management Area Advisory Committee Meeting October 30, 2024, Attendance

Advisory Committee

Corey Allen (via Zoom)

Cooper Brossy

Rod Hubsmith

Pat McMahon

Justin Stevenson

Carl Pendleton

Pat Purdy

Bill Simon

Nick Westendorf

Brian Yeager

Senator Ron Taylor (Ex-officio)

IDWR Staff

Shelley Keen

Corey Skinner

Corey King

Mat Weaver

Neeley Miller (via Zoom)

Matt Anders (via Zoom)

IWRB Members

Pat McMahon

Dean Stevenson

Brian Olmstead (via Zoom)

Members of the Public

Sunny Healey

Chris Bromley (via Zoom)

Larry Schoen

Michael Lawrence (via Zoom)

Heather O'Leary (via Zoom)

Judd McMahon (via Zoom)

Eric Miller (via Zoom)

Greg Loomis (via Zoom)

Britney Gailey (via Zoom)

Wendy Pabich (via Zoom)

Candice McHugh (via Zoom)

Kevin Lakey

Jana Reeder

Michael Gibson

...and others via Zoom and in-person