# Meeting Minutes Big Wood River Ground Water Management Area Advisory Committee IDWR State Office at Idaho Water Center, Boise, Idaho April 6, 2022

The meeting started at approximately 1:30 p.m. Director Gary Spackman and Tim Luke attended at the IDWR State Office in Boise. Other attendees, including Shelley Keen, participated via Zoom video conferencing and/or telephone. See the attached list of attendees.

After a brief introduction and taking of committee attendance, old business items were discussed. Tim Luke gave an update on the following items:

- Presentation of the draft Groundwater Management Plan at the March 23<sup>rd</sup> public meeting in Hailey.
- Final edits have been made to the draft Management Plan, including some
  corrections and formatting, and a few edits based on comments made at or
  received after the public meeting. The draft plan has been forwarded to the
  Director for final action along with a draft order approving the plan and a draft
  moratorium order.
- The Idaho Water Resource Board (IWRB) adopted a resolution on April 12, 2022, to match the water users' contributions to the Conservation, Infrastructure and Efficiency Fund (CIEF).
- The Northwest River Forecast Center April 1 irrigation season (April –
  September) forecast flow volume for the Hailey gage is 130,000 acre-feet. The
  NRCS should issue its forecast by April 7 or 8. Tim anticipated the average
  irrigation season water supply forecast volume would be in the "very dry"
  category.
- Tim inquired about the status of storage water acquisition. Pat McMahon reported that he has made inquiries for storage water in the Upper Snake River system, but no contracts have been finalized.

The meeting then transitioned into a discussion relating to the CIEF Committee structure and bylaws. The advisory committee discussed the potential makeup of the CIEF Committee, including the number of members, the ratio of upper valley to lower valley members, and voting requirements. After much discussion, the Advisory Committee decided that the CIEF Committee will have a total of 10 members, including four groundwater users and four surface water users within Water Districts 37 and 37B, one representative from a non-governmental organization (NGO), and one representative of the Idaho Water Resource Board. The four groundwater user representatives will include one representative from the cities, one from the groundwater districts, one from Water District 37B, and one non-municipal/non-irrigation user (likely to be someone from Sun Valley Co. the first year). The remaining four members would consist of surface water user representatives, with one from the Big Wood Canal Company, two from the Big Wood & Little Wood Water Users Association, and one from the upper valley area (north of Timmerman Hills) who does not have groundwater rights. All members, other than the IWRB

member, would be voting members, and 7 of the 9 voting members would have to agree to carry a proposal. Tim indicated he would coordinate the nominations for CIEF Committee members and asked that selections be made by April 13, 2022.

Shelley Keen offered opportunity for public comment. No public comment was given. Sharon Lee asked IDWR to forward a copy of the draft Management Plan, with recent edits, to the Advisory Committee. Tim committed to sending the latest version to both the committee and interested parties. The meeting adjourned at 3:48 p.m. without another advisory committee meeting being scheduled.

# Big Wood River Ground Water Management Area Advisory Committee April 6, 2022, Attendance

## **Advisory Committee**

Cooper Brossy
Sharon Lee
Pat McMahon
Kristy Molyneux
Carl Pendleton
Pat Purdy
Bill Simon

Nick Westendorf

Lisa Horowitz (City of Hailey for Brian

Yeager) Corey Allen

Sen Michelle Stennett

#### **IDWR Staff**

Gary Spackman Shelley Keen Tim Luke Cherie Palmer Corey Skinner

### **Idaho Water Resource Board Members**

Brian Olmstead Dean Stevenson

# **Members of the Public**

Ashlynn Goody Kevin Lakey Candice Mc Hugh

Jim Speck Keri York

Heather O'Leary
Pete Van Der Meulen

Eric Miller Chris Bromley Dave Shaw Mike Lawrence Justin Stevenson

Chase Hendricks Neil Crescenti