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A license examination fee is not required in connection with permits which use a ground water (well) 
source AND have a total rate of diversion of 0.04 cfs or less or where the total volume stored is 4.0 AF 
per annum or less. 
 
A license exam fee is required for ANY permit which uses surface water. 
 
The license examination fee is based on the storage volume (acre-feet per year or AFY) or on the 
diversion rate (cubic feet per second or CFS). For permits proposing both a diversion rate and a storage 
volume, determine each fee separately and pay the greater of the two. 
 
Checks should be made payable to the Idaho Department of Water Resources (IDWR). 
 
 

LICENSE EXAMINATION FEE SCHEDULE 
Per Idaho Code § 42-221 

 
FLOW RATE (CFS)  STORAGE VOLUME(AF)  FEE 

0 – 0.20  0.0 – 20.0  $50 
0.21 – 1.00  20.1 – 100.0  $100 
1.01 – 2.00  100.1 – 200.0  $125 
2.01 – 3.00  200.1 – 300.0  $150 
3.01 – 4.00  300.1 – 400.0  $175 
4.01 – 5.00  400.1 – 500.0  $200 
5.01 – 6.00  500.1 – 600.0  $225 
6.01 – 7.00  600.1 – 700.0  $250 
7.01 – 8.00  700.1 – 800.0  $275 
8.01 – 9.00  800.1 – 900.0  $300 
9.01 – 10.00  900.1 – 1,000.0  $325 

10.01 – 11.00  1,000.1 – 1,100.0  $350 
11.01 – 12.00  1,100.1 – 1,200.0  $375 
12.01 – 13.00  1,200.1 – 1,300.0  $400 
13.01 – 14.00  1,300.1 – 1,400.0  $425 
14.01 – 15.00  1,400.1 – 1,500.0  $450 
15.01 – 16.00  1,500.1 – 1,600.0  $475 
16.01 – 17.00  1,600.1 – 1,700.0  $500 
17.01 – 18.00  1,700.1 – 1,800.0  $525 
18.01 – 19.00  1,800.1 – 1,900.0  $550 
19.01 – 20.00  1,900.1 – 2,000.0  $575 
20.01 – 21.00  2,000.1 – OVER  $600 

 

http://legislature.idaho.gov/idstat/Title42/T42CH2SECT42-221.htm



