
 

 

 

Application for Transfer or Exchange Fee Schedule 
See Idaho Code § 42-221.O 

 
The fee for an application for transfer is based on the storage volume (acre-feet per year or AFY) or on the 
diversion rate (cubic feet per second or CFS) being transferred, not necessarily on the amount of the entire right. 
For applications proposing a change in the diversion rate and storage volume, determine each fee separately and 
pay the greater of the two.  See Transfer Processing Memo No. 23. 

 
(CFS = cubic feet per second; AF = acre-feet per year) 

Flow Rate (CFS)  Storage Volume (AF)  Fee Flow Rate (CFS)  Storage Volume (AF)  Fee 
0.00 – 0.20  0.0 – 20.0  $200 11.01 – 12.00  1,100.1 – 1,200.0  $1,380 
0.21 – 1.00  20.1 – 100.0  $500 12.01 – 13.00  1,200.1 – 1,300.0  $1,460 
1.01 – 2.00  100.1 – 200.0  $580 13.01 – 14.00  1,300.1 – 1,400.0  $1,540 
2.01 – 3.00  200.1 – 300.0  $660 14.01 – 15.00  1,400.1 – 1,500.0  $1,620 
3.01 – 4.00  300.1 – 400.0  $740 15.01 – 16.00  1,500.1 – 1,600.0  $1,700 
4.01 – 5.00  400.1 – 500.0  $820 16.01 – 17.00  1,600.1 – 1,700.0  $1,780 
5.01 – 6.00  500.1 – 600.0  $900 17.01 – 18.00  1,700.1 – 1,800.0  $1,860 
6.01 – 7.00  600.1 – 700.0  $980 18.01 – 19.00  1,800.1 – 1,900.0  $1,940 
7.01 – 8.00  700.1 – 800.0  $1,060 19.01 – 20.00  1,900.1 – 2,000.0  $2,020 
8.01 – 9.00  800.1 – 900.0  $1,140 20.01 – 100.00  2,000.1 – 10,000.0  * 
9.01 – 10.00  900.1 – 1,000.0  $1,220 100.01 – 500.00  10,000.1 – 50,000.0  ** 

10.01 – 11.00  1,000.1 – 1,100.0  $1,300 500.01 & over  50,000.1 & over  *** 

For an application including a change in nature of use of water under one (1) or more right(s): 
 Additional fee of $250 per application. 

For any application including a change in ownership of water right(s) as required per Idaho Code § 42-248: 
 Additional fee of $25.00 per undivided right requiring an ownership change and/or 
 Additional fee of $100.00 per divided right requiring an ownership change. 

   * $2,020.00 plus $40.00 for each additional 1.0 cfs or part thereof or 100 acre-feet or part thereof over the first 
 20.0 cfs or 2,000 acre-feet. 

   ** $5,220.00 plus $20.00 for each additional 1.0 cfs or part thereof or 100 acre-feet or part thereof over the first  
 100.0 cfs or 10,000 acre-feet. 

   ** $13,220.00 plus $4.00 for each additional 1.0 cfs or part thereof or 100 acre-feet or part thereof over the first  
 500.0 cfs or 50,000 acre-feet. 

 

http://legislature.idaho.gov/idstat/Title42/T42CH2SECT42-221.htm
http://idwr.idaho.gov/files/water-rights/transfer-process-23-guidance-on-SB-1337-amending-section-42-221.pdf
http://legislature.idaho.gov/idstat/Title42/T42CH2SECT42-248.htm



